Best of
Best Heated Bird Baths (2026)
The best heated bird baths and de-icers for winter: wattage, cold ratings, deck-rail fit and what each costs to run per month. Researched picks, Oct 2026.
ResearchedBy Feeder Field Editorial Team
Last updated · Published
Disclosure: We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page. Read our affiliate disclosure.

The best heated bird bath for most homes is the API 14-inch Heated Bird Bath (14B) (opens in a new tab). It draws just 70 watts, its maker says it was tested to -20°F, it has a thermostat, and it comes with both a tilt-to-clean deck-rail mount and a pole mount for about $136. If you already own a bird bath you like, add a thermostatic de-icer such as the API Bird Bath De-Icer (opens in a new tab) (about $90) instead. On a tighter budget, the Farm Innovators BD-75 (opens in a new tab) is a 75-watt bath with three mounting options.
How this page was made: This is a researched guide. We have not measured water temperatures or power draw ourselves. Wattage, cold ratings and mounts come from the manufacturers and US retailers (checked October 7, 2026), electricity prices from the U.S. Energy Information Administration, and bird guidance from Audubon and Cornell Lab. See how we test.
Comparison table
| Product | Watts | Thermostat | Lowest rated temp (maker) | Basin | Mounts | Cord | Listing | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| API 14" Heated Bird Bath (14B)Best overall | 70 | Yes | Tested to -20°F | 14" dia., 2" deep | Deck (2×4/2×6) + 24" pole | 15" | CSA | See at Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
| API Deck-Mounted Heated Bird Bath (650)Best deck-mount | 150 | Per retailer listings* | Not stated by maker* | 20" dia., 2" deep | Deck (2×4/2×6) | Not stated | Not stated | See at Miller Manufacturing (opens in a new tab) |
| Farm Innovators BD-75Best budget | 75 | Yes (on 35°F, off ~45°F) | Tested at -10°F | 14" dia., 1¼" deep, 1 quart | Deck, clamp, ground | 11" | Not stated | See at Walmart (opens in a new tab) |
| Farm Innovators HBI-150Best large basin | 150 | Yes | Not stated | 20" dia., 2¼" deep | Deck (rails 2.75"–6" wide) | Plug under basin | Not stated | See at Walmart (opens in a new tab) |
| API Bird Bath De-Icer (300)Best de-icer for an existing bath | 200 | Yes, auto shut-off | "Sub-zero" (no figure) | Baths up to 15 gal | Sits in the bath | 15" | cULus | See at Miller Manufacturing (opens in a new tab) |
| Farm Innovators C-250 De-Icer | 250 | Yes (on 35°F, off 45°F) | Not stated | Any bath | Sits in the bath | Not stated | UL | See at Amazon (opens in a new tab) |
“Not stated” means we couldn’t find it on the manufacturer’s page, so ask the seller if it matters to you. *See the API 650 section.
How we chose
This list is researched, not tested. We:
- Started with the brands that dominate US heated-bath sales: API (now sold by Miller Manufacturing), Farm Innovators, K&H and others.
- Kept thermostatically controlled models, because a heater that runs nonstop wastes power.
- Used manufacturer specs for wattage and cold ratings, and attributed every cold rating to the maker. We left out K&H’s Thermo-Birdbath because it was sold out on K&H’s US store when we checked.
- Checked electrical listings (UL/CSA) where the maker published them.
- Worked out running costs from published wattage and EIA’s forecast US average electricity price.
When we test these, we’ll log overnight water temperature on the coldest nights and measure real power draw with a plug-in meter. Our method is on how we test.
The best heated bird baths
1. API 14” Heated Bird Bath (14B): best overall
Who it’s for: Most homes, especially decks, patios and small yards where you want the bath close enough to see.
Key specs (manufacturer):
- Power: 70 watts, 120 V; thermostatically controlled
- Rating: tested to -20°F
- Basin: 2 inches deep with a gradual slope
- Mounts: EZ-Tilt deck mount for 2×4 or 2×6 rails, plus a 24-inch pole mount, both included
- Cord: 15 inches; CSA listed; one-year warranty
- Price: $135.99 list on the maker’s store, which showed it sold out on October 8, 2026; it was still listed on Amazon that day
Specs and price are from Miller Manufacturing’s product page.
The 14B has the lowest wattage of any bath here and the best-documented cold rating. Its 2-inch depth with a gradual slope fits Cornell’s guidance: no more than 1 inch at the edges, sloping to no more than 2 inches in the middle (All About Birds). The tilt mount lets you dump and scrub it without unbolting anything.
Pros
- Low 70 W draw with a thermostat
- Tested to -20°F by the maker
- Deck mount and pole mount both in the box
- CSA listed
Cons
- 15-inch cord means you'll need an outdoor-rated extension cord
- 14-inch basin is smaller than the 20-inch options
- Costs more than Farm Innovators' basic bath
Who it’s NOT for: Yards that get big flocks at the bath in winter. A 20-inch basin gives more room.
Check price on API 14” Heated Bird Bath (opens in a new tab)2. API Deck-Mounted Heated Bird Bath (650): best deck-mount
Who it’s for: Deck owners who want a bigger basin right off the rail.
Key specs (manufacturer):
- Power: 150 watts, 120 V; fully enclosed heating element
- Basin: 20-inch diameter, 2 inches deep
- Mount: EZ-Tilt deck mount for 2×4 or 2×6 rails that lifts and tilts for cleaning
- Warranty: one year
- Price: $149.99, as of October 7, 2026
Specs and price are from Miller Manufacturing and its bird bath collection.
This is the bigger sibling of the 14B, with about twice the surface area. Two caveats: Miller’s own page doesn’t mention a thermostat or a cold rating. US retailer listings, such as Greenhouse Megastore’s, describe it as thermostatically controlled and ice-free down to -20°F. Treat both as unconfirmed by the maker until Miller confirms them.
Pros
- Large 20-inch basin
- Tilt-to-clean deck mount
- Enclosed heating element
Cons
- 150 W, about twice the 14B's draw
- Deck mount only
- Thermostat and cold rating not confirmed on the maker's page
Who it’s NOT for: Anyone without a 2×4 or 2×6 deck rail.
Check price on API Deck-Mounted Heated Bird Bath (opens in a new tab)3. Farm Innovators BD-75: best budget
Who it’s for: A first heated bath on a budget, renters, and anyone who wants mounting options.
Key specs:
- Power: 75 watts; thermostat turns on at 35°F and typically off at 45°F
- Rating: tested at -10°F
- Basin: 14-inch diameter, 1¼ inches deep, holds 1 quart
- Mounts: deck, clamp and ground mounts included
- Cord: 11 inches; tucks away for year-round use
- Guarantee: one year
- Price: $89.95 at Duncraft as of October 7, 2026; often listed for less at other US retailers
Thermostat, rating, capacity, mounts and guarantee are from Farm Innovators. Wattage, diameter, depth, cord and price are from Duncraft’s listing.
Farm Innovators publishes its thermostat set points, so you know the heater only switches on as the water nears freezing. The bath is small (1 quart), so it needs topping up often in dry winter air.
Pros
- Lowest price of the full baths here
- Three mounting options in the box
- Published thermostat set points
- Shallow basin suits small songbirds
Cons
- 1-quart capacity needs frequent refills
- Rated to -10°F, versus -20°F for API's 14B
- Very short 11-inch cord; no listing (UL/CSA) stated on the maker's page
Who it’s NOT for: Very cold northern yards, or people who can’t refill it daily.
Check price on Farm Innovators BD-75 (opens in a new tab)4. Farm Innovators HBI-150: best large basin
Who it’s for: Yards with lots of winter birds, and owners who want the biggest basin on a deck rail.
Key specs (retailer listing):
- Power: 150 watts, thermostatically controlled
- Basin: 20-inch diameter, 2¼ inches deep, removable center cup for seed or extra perching
- Mount: deck mount for railings 2.75 to 6 inches wide
- Warranty: three years
- Price: $119.95 at TreeHelp, as of October 7, 2026
Specs and price are from TreeHelp’s listing. Farm Innovators lists the HBI-150 in its heated birdbath range but didn’t publish full specs on a page we could access.
The three-year warranty is the longest on this list. At 2¼ inches, the center is slightly deeper than Cornell’s 2-inch guideline, so a few flat stones can make the middle shallower for small birds.
Pros
- 20-inch basin at a lower price than the API 650
- Three-year warranty
- Fits a wide range of rail widths
Cons
- 150 W draw
- Cold rating not published
- Slightly deeper than ideal for small songbirds
Who it’s NOT for: Small balconies. The 20-inch basin is large.
Check price on Farm Innovators HBI-150 (opens in a new tab)5. API Bird Bath De-Icer (300): best de-icer for an existing bath
Who it’s for: Anyone with a bird bath they like and want to keep using in winter.
Key specs (manufacturer):
- Power: 200 watts, 120 V
- Built-in thermostat that runs only when needed, with automatic shut-off
- For baths up to 15 gallons; works in pottery, plastic and concrete baths
- Stainless steel guard around the element; 15-inch anti-rub cord
- cULus listed; one-year warranty; maker says it works in sub-zero temperatures
- Price: $89.99, as of October 7, 2026
Specs and price are from Miller Manufacturing’s product page.
Pros
- Keeps your existing bath in use
- Safe in concrete and plastic, per the maker
- Thermostat, auto shut-off, cULus listing
Cons
- 200 W, more than a 70 to 75 W heated bath
- Costs about as much as a budget heated bath
- No specific low-temperature figure
Who it’s NOT for: Owners of ceramic or glass baths. Audubon warns ceramic can crack in cold weather whatever heats it.
Also consider: the Farm Innovators C-250 (opens in a new tab), a 250 W cast-aluminum de-icer. Farm Innovators says it’s UL endorsed, safe in all birdbaths, and has extra watts for very cold climates or oversized baths. Its thermostat turns on at 35°F and off at 45°F (Farm Innovators).
Check price on API Bird Bath De-Icer (opens in a new tab)Heated bath vs de-icer: which do you need?
| You have… | Get… | Why |
|---|---|---|
| No bird bath, or a ceramic/glass one | A heated bath (14B, BD-75, 650, HBI-150) | Built-in heater, lower wattage, plastic basin |
| A plastic or concrete bath you like | A de-icer (API 300 or C-250) | Reuses your bath. Check the de-icer is rated for your material |
| A deck rail and no yard space | A deck-mount heated bath (650, HBI-150, 14B or BD-75) | Off the ground, easy to refill from the deck |
| Very cold winters | A higher-rated bath (14B, tested to -20°F) or a higher-wattage de-icer | More heat headroom on the coldest nights |
How much does a heated bird bath cost to run?
The formula: watts ÷ 1,000 × hours on × your price per kWh = cost.
Our assumption: the U.S. average residential electricity price EIA forecasts for 2026, 18.2 cents per kWh (EIA Short-Term Energy Outlook, October 2026). Your own rate is on your utility bill, and prices vary widely by state.
Worst case (heater on 24 hours a day for 30 days):
| Product | Watts | kWh per day (24 h) | kWh per 30 days | Cost per 30 days at $0.182/kWh |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| API 14B | 70 | 1.68 | 50.4 | $9.17 |
| Farm Innovators BD-75 | 75 | 1.80 | 54.0 | $9.83 |
| API 650 / Farm Innovators HBI-150 | 150 | 3.60 | 108.0 | $19.66 |
| API 300 De-Icer | 200 | 4.80 | 144.0 | $26.21 |
| Farm Innovators C-250 De-Icer | 250 | 6.00 | 180.0 | $32.76 |
Real-world cost is lower, because these heaters have thermostats. Farm Innovators’ heaters, for example, switch on at 35°F and typically off at 45°F, so the heater cycles instead of running nonstop. How much lower depends on your climate, wind and how full the bath is. We’ll publish measured numbers once we’ve metered these through a real winter.
Buying guide
Thermostat and wattage
Buy a thermostatic model. A thermostat runs the heater only when needed, which saves power. More watts give more headroom in extreme cold but cost more to run. Going by makers’ ratings, a 70 to 75 W heated bath covers -10°F (BD-75) to -20°F (API 14B). Larger basins and de-icers in big baths use 150 W and up.
Depth
Shallow is safer for songbirds. Cornell recommends water no deeper than 1 inch at the edges, sloping to no more than 2 inches in the middle (All About Birds). Audubon suggests about 1 to 1½ inches (Audubon). The baths here range from 1¼ inches (BD-75) to 2¼ inches (HBI-150) at their deepest.
Mounting
- Deck rail: check your rail size. API’s EZ-Tilt mounts fit 2×4 or 2×6 rails. The HBI-150’s mount fits rails 2.75 to 6 inches wide.
- Pole: the API 14B includes a 24-inch pole mount.
- Ground or clamp: the BD-75 includes ground and clamp mounts.
Put the bath near cover so birds can escape predators. Audubon suggests pedestal baths to help protect bathing birds from predators such as cats (Audubon).
Material
Plastic heated baths are the norm in winter. Audubon recommends plastic baths with built-in heaters and warns that ceramic can crack in cold weather. If you use a de-icer, use it only in a material the maker lists (API names pottery, plastic and concrete).
Electrical safety
- Plug into a GFCI-protected outdoor outlet. The CPSC says GFCIs should, at a minimum, protect outdoor receptacles (CPSC GFCI fact sheet).
- Use an extension cord marked “for outdoor use” and keep it away from snow and standing water (ESFI). Several baths here have cords of 15 inches or less, so you’ll need one.
- Look for a UL, cULus or CSA listing. Of our picks, the API 14B (CSA), API 300 (cULus) and Farm Innovators C-250 (UL) state a listing on the maker’s page.
- Check cords each season for chewing or wear, and replace damaged cords.
Winter bird bath tips
- Refill often. Audubon notes that water evaporates quickly in dry winter air.
- Clean it. Audubon recommends a rinse and scrub with nine parts water to one part vinegar (Audubon).
- Never add antifreeze or glycerin to stop freezing. All About Birds warns that antifreeze is poisonous to birds and that glycerin can mat feathers and leave birds open to hypothermia. Use heat instead; see how to keep a bird bath from freezing for every safe method, with and without power.
- Pair water with food. See what to feed birds in winter.
Related
Sources
- Miller Manufacturing (API): 14” Heated Bird Bath, Deck-Mounted Heated Bird Bath (650), Bird Bath De-Icer, bird bath collection and prices
- Farm Innovators: Classic heated birdbaths (BD-75), C-250 de-icer, wild bird products
- Retailers: Duncraft, BD-75, TreeHelp, HBI-150, Greenhouse Megastore, API 650
- EIA Short-Term Energy Outlook: electricity
- Audubon: Winterize your yard for birds, How to make a birdbath, Keep your birdbath clean, Bird FAQ
- All About Birds, Attract birds with birdbaths
- Safety: CPSC GFCI fact sheet, ESFI extension cord safety tips
Frequently asked questions
- Do birds need water in winter?
- Yes. Audubon notes that many kinds of birds bathe in and drink from open water even in frigid weather, and recommends a heated plastic bath or a heater in an existing bath.
- How much electricity does a heated bird bath use?
- It depends on wattage and how often the thermostat runs. At the US average residential price EIA forecasts for 2026 (18.2 cents per kWh), a 70-watt bath running nonstop for 30 days would cost about $9.17, and a 150-watt bath about $19.66. Thermostats switch the heater off when the water is warm enough, so real costs are usually lower.
- Can I put a de-icer in a concrete bird bath?
- Some de-icers are made for it. API says its Bird Bath De-Icer works in pottery, plastic and concrete baths, and Farm Innovators says its C-250 is safe in all birdbaths. Follow your model's instructions, and don't leave ceramic baths out in freezing weather: Audubon warns they can crack.
- Will birds bathe in winter, and is that dangerous?
- Many birds do bathe in winter. Audubon explains that a healthy bird's feathers shed most of the water before it reaches the insulating down and skin, so winter bathing is safe as long as nothing is added to the water. Never add antifreeze or glycerin.
- Are solar heated bird baths any good?
- We couldn't find a solar-powered heated bath from a major US brand with a published cold rating. Winter has the least sun exactly when you need the most heat, so for reliably open water in freezing weather we recommend a plug-in, thermostatically controlled bath or de-icer.

Written by
Research and editing
The Feeder Field editorial team researches backyard birding gear and bird feeding for US readers. We compare manufacturer specifications, subscription terms and long-term owner feedback, and we check feeding and bird-behavior advice against the Cornell Lab of Ornithology, Audubon and university extension services. Articles are drafted with the help of AI tools, then fact-checked and edited by our team before they go live. Every guide says whether it is researched or hands-on tested, and we update buying guides at least every six months.